Public Works



The Public Works Department is responsible for the management of Municipal infrastructure and assets including; Township roads, sidewalks, bridges, drainage systems, parks, cemeteries, buildings, fleet, and streetlights. 

This department consists of both union and non-union employees.

lone chair on a dock                                                                     
All water, sewer and garbage related inquiries should be directed to the District Municipality of Muskoka  (705) 645-6764 

 2016 - 2017 Waste Management Guide 

There are two sewage treatment plants in the Township of Muskoka Lakes, one located in Bala, the other in Port Carling.

Currently the plant runs at approximately 1/3 capacity for the majority of the year and runs at approximately 1/2 capacity during the summer months. Daily and bi-weekly water tests ensure that water quality is up to health standards.
A new water treatment plant has recently been built in Port Carling, which is similar to the modern treatment plant in Bala. The conventional water treatment operation includes flocculation, sedimentation and filtration. Capacity for both plants takes into consideration population projections for the future.
Beginning the week of May 4, 2014 - Muskoka residents will be required to sort recyclables into two separate Blue Boxes or clear bags; one for paper products (fibres) and the other for containers.
It should be noted that homeowners are welcome to use any open-top container such as a cardboard box, laundry basket, Rubbermaid container or similar. A Blue Box is not required to ensure collection.
For more information, please contact Muskoka Public Works at 705-645-6764 or


The Public Works Forms have been saved in a PDF format. You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view the documents. If you do not have this program, click on the graphic below to download Adobe Acrobat Reader.

get adobe reader

w3cP.O. Box 129, 1 Bailey St., Port Carling, Ontario, P0B 1J0  Phone:(705)765-3156  Fax:(705)765-6755
Municipal Office hours: Monday to Friday 8:15 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. (excluding holidays)